Stephen O'malley + ONCEIM — Gruidés
Date de sortie : Jul. 18, 2015
Label : DDS

Stephen O’malley + ONCEIM – GRUIDÉS

« In early 2014 O’Malley was approached by pianist and composer Frédéric Blondy to write a work for the orchestra, comprised of exceptional musicians from the fields of contemporary, jazz, experimental, improvisation and classical. Understandably intimidated by the prospect, but encouraged to « just be punk rock about it », the preternaturally gifted composer has conceived a technically demanding – for the players at least – and richly rewarding longform drone piece intently focussed on harmonic experimentation and overtone study. During its 35 minute lifespan, ‘Gruidés’ requires the musicians to sustain pitches for several minutes (which is difficult enough for strings, and a real feat of endurance for woodwind), yielding a gloaming spectra of eliding dissonance rent in sliding tone clusters and lucent geometries punctuated by a similar whipcrack percussion as used in his Scott 0))) collaboration. It makes great use of the acoustic qualities of Saint Merry church, central Paris, as captured in the recording of IRCAM’s Augustin Muller and mastered by Matt Colton with a detached spaciousness evocatively distilled in the cover art by Jean-Luc Verna. It’s an incredibly immersive piece that comes highly recommended if you’re into the work of Phill Niblock, Alvin Lucier, Ellen Fullman, Harley Gaber… »

ONCEIM O'malley - Gruidés

ONCEIM O'malley - Gruidés

ONCEIM O'malley - Gruidés

Pierre-Antoine Badaroux (saxophone alto)
Félicie Bazelaire (violoncelle)
Sébastien Beliah (contrebasse)
Patricia Bosshard (violon)
Cyprien Busolini (alto)
Massimo Carrozzo (clarinettes)
Giani Caserotto (guitare)
Xavier Charles (clarinette)
Pierre Cussac (accordéon)
Jean Daufresne (euphonium),
Bertrand Denzler (saxophone ténor)
Vianney Desplantes (euphonium)
Benjamin Dousteyssier (saxophone baryton)
Jean Dousteyssier (clarinette)
Benjamin Duboc (contrebasse)
Yoann Durant (saxophone alto)
Rémi Durupt (percussion)

Elodie Gaudet (alto)
Antonin Gerbal (batterie)
Antonin-Tri Hoang (clarinette)
Louis Laurain (trompette)
Carmen Lefrançois (saxophone baryton)
Julien Loutelier (batterie)
Jean-Sébastien Mariage (guitare)
Frédéric Marty (contrebasse)
Arnaud Rivière (électronique)
Joris Rühl (clarinette)
Diemo Schwarz (électronique)
Alvise Sinivia (piano)
Deborah Walker (violoncelle)

Composed By Stephen O’malley
Mastered By Matt Colton
Recorded By Augustin Muller
Recorded in concert at Église Saint-Merry, Paris

Facebook IconYouTube IconVisit My Soundcloud PageVisit My Soundcloud PageVisit My Soundcloud Page